tenaCITY

tenaCITY is about following your heart, secure in the knowledge that this is your life, to be lived by you, regardless of what obstacles may present themselves.

Sometimes someone would say something and the meaning of what has been said would be completely veiled – only to occur to you much later, long after that person has disappeared from your life – and too late for you to express any gratitude.

“You have the tenacity of a bull-dog and the concupiscence of a rabbit.”

When, halfway through high school, my Latin teacher said this to me, I had not the slightest inkling what he meant.

Nor did I realize he was paying me a great compliment, while explaining a basic principle of life and success.

Perhaps Mr. Kromhout had none of that in mind.

Maybe he was merely attempting to illustrate the value of having a proper grounding in Latin grammar – that it is vital to understanding and applying most modern languages.

I would want to believe though, and please be kind enough to leave me happy in this illusion, that he did want to comment on my character, or rather my nature, intending to reinforce these attributes, knowing that others would want to suffocate them – and that I would be much the poorer should that happen.

_____________________

tenaCITY is the third chapter of ‘sevenCITIES‘, which is now available from Amazon’s Kindle-store.

I hope you find it there & enjoy the book.

After all the writing only becomes meaningful in the reading.

Leave a Reply

