confessions of an insignificant African boy (2)

Confessions of an Insignificant African Boy‘ is now available as an eBook in Amazon’s Kindle store.

All 22 chapters, revised & edited to enjoy as a single book.

Below is a sample of the second chapter.

It is my confession, originaly written so that my children could know of the faith living inside of me.

I hope it will inspire & challenge you to discover your own faith in new ways.

Link to Kindle Store
: Confessions of an Insignificant African Boy.

____________________

This is the second of 22 instalments which I am sharing with you over 22 days since 15/11/2010.  As a whole it is my confession.  What I believe.  It is written for my children.  Perhaps they would read it now, perhaps they would return to it in our time as I am waiting to be re-incarnated.  I would love your response, your questions and insights and apprehension for in that we would relate and I would become.

II

So you may know, I grew up in a Christian Church.

Born to Christian parents.

In fact, born to ‘more’ than just Christian parents.

My father was a passionate and devoted Reformed Church minister.

Christianity runs deep in our family.

I’m a bit of a mixed-breed, which I suppose says a lot about you lot too.

The French, Dutch, Germans & Irish all collaborated to bring us into being.

They came to Africa at different times and for different reasons in the age of colonial expansion, after the French Revolution and the Western Reformation.

The French fled from Roman Catholic persecution during the Reformation, first to Holland via Belgium and then to Africa while the Dutch East India Company was still running things.

The Dutch were already here.

I’m not quite sure when the Germans came, but they were settling slightly north of South Africa in what …

Get ‘Confessions of an Insignificant African Boy‘ now.

2 thoughts on “confessions of an insignificant African boy (2)

    • Good for you, Al. The ‘purpose’ of my confession, however, is not that you may ‘believe’, maybe everyone ‘believes’ something. To confess, is to give away what is believed – and perhaps in that we will re-late a bit. Thank you for taking the time to read & respond.

Leave a Reply

