heroes

We’ve been watching Tim Kring’s Heroes (thank you NBC for the image).

We don’t do TV series from week to week, we go for the marathon-option. We rent it from our DVD-store and for days on end we watch episode after episode after episode after episode. On weekends we’ll escape into this world sometimes watching a whole season as we make our way from Friday to Sunday.

It isn’t just with Heroes that we do this. It actually started a few years ago when we discovered Allias and Jenifer Garner. Back then the DVD-store didn’t stock TV-series and we ordered season after season through Amazon, anxiously waiting for days for the package to arrive only to consume the story in a short few nights.

The last few weeks we’re onto Heroes. Peter Patrelli, Hiro Nakamura, Clair Bennet, Sylar and the crowd of special people who wield their powers in the service of good and bad.

We’ve made our way to Season 4.

Tomorrow we’ll rent the last disc, watch the final episodes and then some normality will return to our life. Or perhaps it will be abnormality, as we wait to discover another exceptional TV-series to escape into & enjoy.

It is a pity the second season of ABC’s ‘Eli Stone’ never made it to our DVD-store. I loved Eli & the feel of this series. I suppose Amazon is going to do some business. Soon.

Anyway – back to Heroes.

As I flee from my own broken world into the broken world of these heroes I’ve been thinking about the other ‘hero’ whose diary I’ve been reading.

I’ve been contemplating how ‘heroes’ never have ‘all the power’. Except perhaps in childhood fairy tales in which a woodcutter can slice open a wolf’s tummy and free a little girl in red and her granny. Which, come to think of it is very similar violence, if not worse than that which Tim portrays in his visual story telling.

Heroes are seldom comprehensive.

Super man is strong and can fly.

Batman is smart and has awesome gadgets.

Spiderman climbs walls and shoots spider web.

Heroes are seldom comprehensive and yet they do not search out each other and collaborate in order to be a formidable team.

Well Fantastic Four does.

And the Incredibles family.

And The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, who even includes a lady.

Okay, so some heroes do collaborate and when they do, they achieve extra ordinary and fabulous ‘success’.

This is what I find appealing of Nehemiah (whose diary I’ve been reading).

He is a hero.

He risks & acts in ways most people seldom do.

This however is not the heart of his heroism. His heroism is to be found in his brave collaboration.

In Ernesto “Che” Guevara-style he gives up the trappings of his ‘succesful’ life, walks into Jerusalem and shows a people who has been living in poverty and oppression that they are more. Worth more and able to do more and ‘be’ more and ‘become’ more.

And they ‘see’ what he ‘shows’.

And they believe what he reveals.

And they ‘are’ more and ‘do’ more and ‘become’ more.

They transcend what they’ve been and what they thought defines their existence and collectively achieve immense and unexpected feats.

They create a new society.

A kind and graceful and prosperous society.

Perhaps we are all heroes.

Perhaps all we need is to ‘see’ each other’s ‘special powers’ and ‘reveal’ it to each other and then not scatter like fearful comic-book characters, but ‘connect’ and ‘believe’ what is recognised and live from it and accomplish the unexpected.

Not by giving up where we are or who we are, but by embracing it.

This is my hope – that I would be like Nehemiah, in this regard at least.

That in Hiro Nakamura-style, through my time and talking and togetherness with Zuko and my children and my friends and co-workers, I would be able to ‘reveal’ their ‘special powers’ to them and show them how beautiful it is and help them to harness it for good.

And perhaps in all of that someone would come along and reveal to me a hidden ‘ability’ of which I am unaware, which I too can harness as we live and work and play and create something meaningful and exquisite.

__________________

If you enjoyed this post, you might enjoy my books available from Amazon’s Kindle-store.

Just click this link to take a look: Theunis Pienaar in Amzaon.

6 thoughts on “heroes

    • Oh my GOD. Divorcee and I did that for years. We loved ALias. He is a die hard Lost fan. I just started school again so I hunger for a good hour of t.v. rented over and over so it feels like one episode. I wish we guys were neighbors!

      • Lost is good, loved it too. Here in Africa we’re a bit ‘delayed’. You’ll always see it at least 9 months before us. How did you like Eli Stone? That is still my all time favorite. 🙂

  1. I like this. Since a small boy I’ve always believed everyone has super powers. We all just need to find our power and tap into it. I also have this theory about tribes, but that’s a long discussion.

    You think the world is broken? Or just your world?

    • Hey Bjorn! Haven’t heard from you in a while – tell me about the tribe’s, ’cause I have some ideas about that too.

      I think the world is broken, although ‘my world’ have elements of completeness, a bit of a paradox perhaps.

      What do you think?

  2. it’s something i should actually do a whole post about, but i’m not sure i have the right words for it. i’ve just always had this impression since childhood that we all belong to different tribes. not exactly by blood, but more like it is our souls that belong to different tribes.
    i don’t know how many of these tribes there are. i don’t think very many, maybe just a handful. i do know that some tribes are much larger than others. certain tribes are better at certain things for instance. then there is one tribe that are almost like herders, they are to guide the others.
    as i said, i’m battling to find the right words for it, it’s just something that’s always been with me. it makes complete sense in my head if that makes any sense. haha! you don’t know where i live so you can’t send the whitecoats over!!!

    personally, i don’t think the world is broken. i think it is 100%. if anything is broken, it is our perception.

Leave a Reply

