no time

You’re sixty, your son is 32 and his son is 4.

This we know, whether we are the father, the son or the grandson. We are familiar with it. We have seen it and lived it and tasted it.

The wise old man advising his young and ambitious son, both envying the grandson for the time & opportunity he has. The freshness of it. The length thereof.

Or the grumpy and disillusioned old man complaining and criticizing his rebellious adult son and the grandson oblivious to the relational tension.

The old man struggling to get up from the low chair, the son suddenly aware of a bit of extra weight along the mid-rif and the grandson expending more energy than the other two expends together on an active day.

You’re seven-hundred-and-sixty, your son is seven-hundred-and-thirty-two and his son is seven-hundred-and-four.

The three of you are sitting together. You’re talking about life. You’re contemplating meaning. You’re considering a new venture. Your optimistic about the future. You have time to attempt something and bring it to fruition and move on to the next thing. The three of you have seen lots and done lots and you look forward to doing even more.

Imagine time not being a burden and a curse and a segregator and a creator of urgency.

Imagine time being a giver of rhythm and an equalizer and a creator of intimacy.

I see a future in which ‘age’ does not separate us in our relationships, but brings us close to each other.

A future in which my son or my daughter will be my ‘dependant’ for a fraction of the time we share. A small tiny fraction. And the time we have as equals, as adults will be a wide open space to be enjoyed.

I see this somewhere in the future in terms of the chronology to which we are now subjected and I look past this linear continuum and I embrace my eleven year old son and my nine and seven-year old girls. I embrace them as equals. As beings who are able to teach me & affect me. Who are often wiser than me and are able to contribute immensely to whatever we do together.

And our relationships are different, better, because of this perceptional adjustment.

__________________

If you enjoyed this post, you might enjoy my books available from Amazon’s Kindle-store.

Just click this link to take a look: Theunis Pienaar in Amzaon.

2 thoughts on “no time

Leave a Reply

