Way 7 – 10 Ways to make a Difference at Elukholweni Farm School

I’ve been sharing some ideas with you on how to make a difference at Elukholweni Farm School.

Each Day, one idea.

I share this with you, because I believe, when we make a difference somewhere, it not only contributes to our own happiness, but it also unlocks a positive energy which flows into our world.

I’ve shared five ideas, so far.  They’re simple ideas.

ONE: List Elukholweni Farm School on your MySchool Card as a beneficiary.

TWO: Give Just 1 Hour

THREE: Host something

FOUR: Fix something

FIVE: Plant something

SIX: Tell someone

red door

SEVEN: Open a Door

Has a door ever been opened for you?

An opportunity which allowed you to blossom & prosper & be, beyond anyone’s expectation?

It has for me – several times.

In 1986, I was 15, too young to find a job & inexperienced.  Mr Burton of Croft Magill & Watson and T Birch & Co opened a door for me, allowing me to work on Saturdays for R12.50 a day.

In 1991, I was wanting to study, but did not have funds or bursaries.  Mr Koen opened a door for me.  He gave me R4000.00, without me asking & without any expectations.  Enough money to register & pay my first semester’s fees.  That’s all I needed.  From there I worked hard, earned income, earned some bursaries & progressed through seven years at University.

Opening a door is amazing – it opens a future.

In 1996, Kobus Odendal, opened another door for me.  Zuko & I were just married, but we were both students.  Kobus offered us the opportunity to live & work at Bloemfontein’s ‘Eie Haard Koshuis’ at Sentraal High School.  It enabled us to be married as students.  It did more though.  It enabled us to grow & become & be independent as married students.

In 1998, Jaap de Bruin, opened another door.  He invited me to the little village of Bray & despite the fact that I wasn’t your typical Reformed Minister & Zuko wasn’t your typical Minister’s wife, he encouraged the community to invite us to stay there & be part of their community & lead them in faith, love & meaning.  Five beautiful years followed.  Stunning friendships.  We became more than we would ever have been, had Jaap not opened that door.

Constantly doors were opened for me & us.

In 2000, Dolf Britz & Gert van Staden opened a door for me.

In 2002 Danie van der Berg opened a door for us.

In 2007, Manie Steyn opened a door for us.

And along the way, we had the opportunity to open some doors as well.

And sometimes people go through the door, embrace the opportunity & become.

And sometimes they don’t.

I’ve learnt that what someone does with an opened door, is not my concern, even if I am the one opening the door.

I’ve learnt there is no greater thing you can do, than to open a door.

So today, as way 7 of doing something to make a difference at Elukholweni Farm School, as I remember and am grateful for the doors which have been opened for me, along the journey of my life – I would like to encourage you to open a door for someone.

Become interested in one of the children attending Elukholweni Farm School.

Consider how you can open a door for one little boy or one little girl.

It will change the future.

Undeniably.

_________________________________________________

If you want more information on Elukholweni Farm School, visit their Facebook Page or call Wouter van der Westhuizen on 0824542772

3 thoughts on “Way 7 – 10 Ways to make a Difference at Elukholweni Farm School

  1. Pingback: Way 8 – 10 Ways to make a Difference at Elukholweni Farm School | Sevencitys' Blog

  2. Pingback: Way 9 – 10 Ways to make a Difference at Elukholweni Farm School | Sevencitys' Blog

  3. Pingback: Sevencitys' Blog

Leave a Reply

